A Lazy Meal

8 Mar

You ever just had a lazy day when it comes to cooking?  Sometimes I honestly don’t feel like doing much in the kitchen, but I also don’t feel like ordering takeout.  It’s these times where I try my best to think of the quickest things that I can whip up and still satisfy my bold culinary taste.

I know that if I just turned on my computer and Googled 30, 20, or even 15 minute meals, I would be overwhelmed with tons of ideas.  But sometimes it’s all about having the basics.  In my previous article “Put a Staple in it!”, I gave you an idea of some of the things that your refrigerator and pantry should always be stocked with.

Tonight I will share with you exactly what I am going to have for dinner.  This will take all of 20 minutes to be prepared AND cooked. I am going to have Steak with Honey Glazed Carrots and Basmati Rice.  Steak in 20 minutes? How you ask?  Well in general when I purchase all of my meats and poultry, I clean and season them before I put them in the freezer in individualized Ziploc Freezer Bags.  This makes for quick and easy defrosting when I am ready to make a meal.  Also, I always have frozen vegetables on hand which are already chopped, and sometimes flavored and always very easy to prepare.  Lastly, Basmati rice is very easy to make and takes very little time, except you kind of have to keep a close eye on it because it cooks so fast.  You wouldn’t want to end up with mushy rice.

After my steak and is defrosted, I will line a pan with foil (for easy clean up), lay my steak down, and sprinkle it with “McCormick’s Spicy Montreal Steak Seasoning” on both sides.  Remember that the steak was already pre seasoned, so this just gives it a little more flavor.  I will then cover it with another piece of foil and place it in the oven for 20 minutes.  (Covering it will allow a natural gravy that will come from the meat.)  Next I will make sure that my basmati rice is on the fire.  Lastly, I will prepare my “Green Giant Honey Glazed Carrots”.  The easy directions are on the box.   The manufacturer’s time says 5-7 minutes for recommended cooking time.

And there you have it, another full meal in just 20 minutes.  It will probably take you longer to read this article than it would for you to cook this meal. LOL Enjoy! 😉

Mmm take a bite out of that!   

2 Responses to “A Lazy Meal”

  1. Rhonda Sittig March 8, 2012 at 4:07 am #

    looks beautiful– and so delicious

    • Hershey March 8, 2012 at 5:59 am #

      Hi Rhonda thanks for stopping by. Not only is it delicious, but I swear it is so quick and easy to make.

Leave a Reply

