A Touch of Sweet for Thanksgiving

17 Nov

Every once in a while my sweet tooth starts gnawing at me, and I get into my dessert mood. I figure I should be because Thanksgiving is just one week away and I haven’t even thought of a dessert yet. So what are the common Thanksgiving desserts? Hmm… pumpkin pie, sweet potato pie, blueberry pie, apple crumb pie… this list is actually boring me. Everything ends with the word “pie”. I do love some pie, but I need something a little different, something packed with mega flavor. Now I know I may sound a little greedy, but after eating all of the turkey, stuffing, baked macaroni and cheese, potato salad, fresh garden salad; the list can go on and on, my sweet tooth starts kicking in.

So this week I am planning ahead of time. I decide to look to my favorite culinary power couple, the all famous Neely’s. In their new cookbook “The Neely’s Celebration Cookbook” there are tons of delicious ideas to choose from.  I think that I have found the perfect one for this festive occasion.

Ice Cream Cupcakes

12                 Oreo cookies, finely crushed
3 tbl             Melted butter
2 pt              Rocky Road ice cream, softened
½ cup        Caramel ice cream topping
1 ½ cups   Whipped topping, thawed
¼ cup         Rainbow sprinkles
12                 Maraschino cherries

Line a twelve-cup muffin tin with decorative liners.  Combine the crushed cookie pieces and butter in a large bowl.  Divide the cookie mixture among the twelve cupcake liners, and press down to form a crust.  Add a large scoop of ice cream to each cupcake, and carefully spread to cover the crust and fill the cup.  Drizzle each cupcake with caramel, and then pipe the whipped topping on the cupcakes, using a pastry bag fitted with a large star tip.  Top each cupcake with sprinkles and a cherry, Freeze for 3 hours, or until firm.

When it’s time to serve your dessert, it will look like you slaved in the kitchen all day to achieve such perfection. You will impress your holiday guests not only with your perfect little cupcakes, but with the blast of taste.

For more dessert ideas, you can check out these past articles…

Cupcakes…The “Little Black Dress” of desserts?

Hawaiian Stay-cation

Keeping Your Cool…

Brownie Choco-Attack!

Mmm take a bite out of that!

“Sing unto the LORD with thanksgiving; sing praise upon the harp unto our God” – Psalm 147:7

7 Responses to “A Touch of Sweet for Thanksgiving”

  1. Savory Simple November 17, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    What a gorgeous photo! These sound wonderful.

    • Hershey November 17, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      Hi Savory Simple, thank you for stopping by. I really cannot wait to try them myself. Thanksgiving is right around the corner.

  2. Coco Rivers November 18, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Yummy! You wouldn’t be normal if you weren’t thinking of sweets now lol. Thanksgiving stirs that up even in those of us who are not sugar fanatics. I’m not but it makes no difference, all good cooks are pressed into dessert service on T-day. I made a Red Velvet Cake and the obligatory Pecan Pie last year. This year, I’m making Pecan Bourbon & Butterscotch Bread Pudding. That should shut em down lol.

    Have a wonderful Holiday!

    P.S. – I LOVED the Kissing post 🙂

    • Hershey November 18, 2011 at 7:40 am #

      Okay just give me your address and the time to show up. Is it going to be formal or informal. Let me know if it’s okay to add a +1. LOL Sounds good girl!

      P.S.- I am so happy that you are enjoying the whole site 🙂

  3. fabuliciouscupcake November 18, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    Gosh! I can’t wait until Thanksgiving to eat everything delicious in sight. Desserts are my favorite part because I have a weakness for sweetness. One day I will try this recipe.

    • Hershey November 18, 2011 at 7:42 am #

      LOL that is so funny, I used to be in love with this soca song “I have a weakness for sweetness”. The Neely’s new cookbook had a lot of great ideas. You should check it out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Parfaits…Simple, Yummy, Elegance « simplystudded - February 9, 2012

    […] A Touch of Sweet for Thanksgiving Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

