Thank God for Deep Fried Turkey!

10 Nov

Thanksgiving to many is a day where family, friends, and loved ones gather together to celebrate God’s favor in their lives. This festive occasion is celebrated with a spread of traditional cuisine from the family’s culture.  The most common co-star of the party is the Thanksgiving Turkey (I would say that God is the Star).

When I was younger, I honestly did not care for the turkey, mainly because the meat was just too dry for me.  However a few years ago, I had a life changing experience. Deep fried turkey found its way into my family’s traditional Thanksgiving spread.  This aside from my favorite meat; pork that it, has quickly become a favorite of mine. I know that I am not sharing anything new with you.  Deep frying turkey has been around for quite some time now, but it is still something worth acknowledging.  I have found that because the turkey is fried as opposed to baked, it holds the natural juices. This makes the meat very succulent and tasty.  Over drying makes you feel like you are eating seasoned cardboard.  Now don’t get me wrong, baked turkey can be done well (I’ve done it myself), but if I had to choose I would go with fried all the time.

Safety is a big issue when it comes to frying turkey.  If done wrong, it can turn out to be a disaster. Until now, I have never seen a fried turkey done indoors without it being a major catastrophe.  Butterball has a line of turkey deep fryers that can do the job.  Let’s watch Paula Deen as she uses the Butterball Professional Series Turkey Deep Fryer right in her kitchen. A recipe is also provided in the video.

Mmm Take a bite out of that!

Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.- Psalm 100:4

Leave a Reply

