Age Is Just A Number… Or Is It????

7 Nov

Many of us have heard this famous line time and time again “age is just a number“….. But when it comes to relationships how much does it really factor? When Demi Moore and Ashton Kutcher made their relationship public they were under heavy scrutiny. Everyone wondered if there 15 year old age difference could span the end of time. With all the rumours of Ashton’s infidelity many wonder if his age played a part in it.

Think about it when your 25 years old a your mate is 32 years old that is a 7 year difference is that bad? Or your 16 years and your mate is 20 years old that is a 4 year difference is that acceptable? I think a lot of the concerns with age also plays with one’s level of maturity. You can have a 30 year old man who may not be at the level of maturity of a 21 year old man it truly depends on the individual.

Speaking from my own personal experience I am 30 years old and my boyfriend is 38 years old. In my past I would have never pictured myself with a man 8 years older than me. But I can honestly say “age is just a number“… In my opinion it all depends on how that person treats you, his/her level of maturity, and what their attributes are to the relationship. I can however say that age plays a huge part when you are talking about a minor dating an adult and vice versa. I would like to hear your perspective on this topic… How much does age play in the overall relationship? Share your success and horror stories I would love to hear from you all.

Ciao,

Simply Studded

4 Responses to “Age Is Just A Number… Or Is It????”

  1. trufabulosit November 7, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    In my experiences depending on what you are looking for in a relationship older men have been more for me. I have dated men up to 19 years older than me and our conversation is great and they treated me like a goddess. I wouldn’t consider dating a man more than 2 years younger than myself, even then I would know that it could only go so far.

  2. Still Got All My Parts November 7, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    I would say that it certainly can be more than a number. However, as both parties age this becomes less and less of an issue.

    I agree that this largely hangs on the level of maturity of both parties, as well as life experience.

    As with anything else in the realm of relationships, I suppose that individual results may vary. I’ve known people who married when they were 16, who then went on to spend 70 years together. By the same logic, I suppose that a 20 year-old and a 35 year-old could potentially have a perfect relationship….though I would advise against both cases.

    For what it’s worth, 30:38 seems perfectly reasonable to me. You’re both old enough to have lived and loved. Perhaps that’s the answer. If two parties are within an age range which allows them to be “experience equals”, then it’s all good.

    I’ve given this a good deal of thought lately as I’m 41 and find myself single again. I suppose I could always go by the old “half your age plus 7” rule.

    Take care.

  3. Hershey November 7, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    I have dated men on both sides of the spectrum. I agree with you Studded, it depends on the individuals maturity level. The man I am in love with now happens to be younger than I am. Maturity level says a lot.

    • simplystudded November 7, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

      Thank you all for your comments… From what it seems it plays a lot on a persons level of maturity… I can completely agree with that!!! I like the fact that “Still Got My Pants” mentioned level of life experinces…. I do agree that life experinces plays a HUGE part in the overall decision! Truefabolsit mentioned that she woulnt date a man 2 years younger than her… Is that more prefernce than anything else???? I wonder but I found everyones comments insightful thanks for sharing!!!!

Leave a Reply

