Trick Or Treat????

29 Oct

So Halloween is upon us and many are running out to get their costumes. This year a group of students from Ohio University all members of STARS (Students Teaching Against Racism in Society) launched a campaign against racial insensitive costumes. Their slogan “We are a culture, not a costume”. The advertisement is highlighting a serious underlying issues that we have pretty much swept under the rug. There is a women in black face, a latino wearing a sombrero and poncho along with other offensive images. I want to hear your thoughts on this. Is it just a costume or are we sending a clear message of disrespect for others cultures. I found the campaign moving. As a Christian I am not particularly a fan of Halloween however I understand the fun that comes with dressing up. After viewing the images I had to really think of what others may feel or perceive from seeing these images. What is your ideas on this??? I really want to hear from our readers.

*I have provided images from STARS please take the time and view each image carefully.

Ciao,

Simply Studded

2 Responses to “Trick Or Treat????”

  1. Jessbe October 29, 2011 at 1:46 am #

    I think this is one of those cases where a few rotten apples ruin the bunch. I live in NYC my whole life & go to the parade every year & I have never seen racist costumes. Every area of the US is different. Its good that its brought to attention. Its social responsibility

    • simplystudded October 31, 2011 at 3:09 am #

      Hey Jessbe.. I live in NY too and honestly I think that it is a social issuse many of us paid no mind too until now. I think these students have shined light on a issuse that many of us swept under the rug. But I appericate STARS bringing this to everyones attention.

Leave a Reply

