Computer Love…

24 Oct

If you would have asked me five years ago about online dating, I would have replied “no freakin way, that right there  is for losers” In the age of club hoping, bar running, I would for sure run into a perspective partner. How easy is it to meet a man in the city that never sleeps? I would leave my Brooklyn apartment and by the time I reach the corner store I would have picked up about two numbers, about five “what’s-good ma“!, and three chicken head bird calls.  Now fast forward in time, with my stressful career that keeps me in the office  for 8 to 12 hours a day, and my refusal to stop and talk to strange man in the streets (with good reason). Ohh did I mention I stopped partying….when do I really have time to meet someone?

I did not start dating online because I was lonely or desperate. It was more like a dare! I was on the phone with one of my still single girlfriends, and she stated that the small town that she lived in, there was a shortage of men. She wanted to meet someone far away (long distance relationship) and felt that I should do the same after my break-up. I thought why not? What was there to lose? All my co-workers were doing it, and they were really successful at it I might add.  So I went through with the long profile, even longer questions, sexy picture and yes $25 for a monthly rate (used a coupon). I came to realize that online dating has come a long way. A lot of people think online dating is only utilized by people who can not find a partner, and view it as a last resort of dating, like some final attempt to finding “the one”. The pool of eligible bachelors is getting slimmer quickly. Truth be told, regular, working, frustrated singles are searching for love online and finding success from all age groups, all races, all religions. OMG  I was so surprised to see that there is an online dating service for everyone.

To be honest with you, Internet dating has definitely spiced up my life. In the first week I have emailed and talked to so many men from all over. I always get a little rush of adrenaline when someone new emails me, or I email someone and they actually respond. I simply call it “Shopping for a man”.

I must admit, although tempting to meet all of them, I only met up with one guy from online. Who turned out to be the sweetest, and is so different from the men that I have dated (who knows where this might lead). Most of the men I have emailed or spoken too have been nice, interesting, attractive, or some combination of all three minus the bull shit games. Online dating has provided me with the option of “time”. Time to get to know that person with the late night phone calls and the emails. That time allows me to be comfortable into taking the next step to meeting the person. The one constant thing that I realized with the men that I communicated with is that there is no place for games. It’s a service that you pay for and you are hoping everyone is there for the same reason, and that is to meet someone.  Also I believe in online dating because they give us access to a much wider population of potential partners, they improve the odds. It took me out of my comfort zone, and opened me up to meeting men that I normally would not talk to. I said it before and I will say it again dating is supposed to be fun, the goal is meeting and exploring new things, and hopefully the end result you will come out with a winner. If you don’t take that step and exploring outside your box, how do you know what you like and don’t like?

I would definitely recommend online dating, but just like dating in person, use caution.

HAPPY DATING……..

2 Responses to “Computer Love…”

  1. Jessbe October 24, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    my friends and i were talking about online dating. we as all 23-25 years and thought it was something for people of older age but we are considering it

    • heynow603 October 25, 2011 at 12:41 am #

      Another well written and insightful piece, Ms. Nanja. I have no use for Internet dating being a married man and all. But in all honesty, I think I’m too cynical to even attempt something that mysterious. I’m the type that needs to see who I’m dealing with. I don’t even like talking on the phone ; I’d rather wait to see the person. Anyway, more power to those who give Internet dating a shot and good luck to you, Ms. Nanja.

Leave a Reply

