Something hearty for Autumn’s touch…

8 Sep

It’s after Labor Day, and just as she would have it, Autumn is throwing her welcome back party just a little too soon.  Now don’t get me wrong, Autumn happens to be my favorite season.  I love the beautiful fall colors, the fact that I can wear a light jacket, and the anticipation of the upcoming holidays.  I know that may be three weird reasons, but I own them. LOL

So we cannot ignore that though it seems like we just stepped off of the beach and directly onto the ski slopes, summer salads are just not going to appeal to us as much anymore.  After a long day at school or work, a nice bowl of soup just may do it.

One of my favorite soups to make is Potato-Leek Soup.  But of course I always have to add my own little ingredients to make it just a little better. 😉

1 pound               Leek, white part only

1 Each                   Chopped Green and Red Pimiento Pepper

½ pound              Cooked Turkey Meat

4 oz                        Whole Butter

1 pound               Potato, Large dice

1 ¾ quart             Chicken Stock

12 oz                      Heavy Cream

To taste                Salt and White Pepper

  1. Split the leeks lengthwise and wash well to remove all sand and grit.  Slice them thinly.
  2. Sweat the leeks and pimiento peppers in the butter without browning them.
  3. Add the potatoes and chicken stock, season with salt and pepper and bring to a simmer.
  4. Simmer until the leeks and potatoes are very tender.
  5. Puree the soup in a food processor, blender or food mill; strain through a fine sieve.
  6. Incorporate heavy cream and add salt and pepper.
  7. Add turkey meat.

Pour into a beautiful autumn colored bowl and Enjoy!

Here are some Potato Leek Soup variations…

Sweet Potato Leek Soup

Vegetarian Potato leek Soup

Chunky Potato Leek Soup

Mmm take a bite out of that!

6 Responses to “Something hearty for Autumn’s touch…”

  1. Savory Simple September 8, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    This looks delicious!

    • Hershey September 8, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

      Hi Savory Simple,

      Thank you so much for stopping by. I am so ready to have some. I love this soup!

  2. embonbon September 8, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Oh, another blogger who also writes about fashion and food.. I think I love you!

    • Hershey September 8, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      Awww Shucks! Thank you so much for stopping by Embonbon. I hope that reading my blogs will help to quench your appetite. I saw that you said that you write about food because you cannot eat it. 😉 I hope this helps.

      God Bless

    • simplystudded September 8, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

      Embonbon we are fortunate to have various writers who cover various topics from food, to fashion, to relationships. We appericate your support stop by anytime!

      Simply Studded

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Something hearty for Autumn's touch… (via simplystudded) | bernicebowling - September 8, 2011

    […] This looks warm and delicious ! It’s after Labor Day, and just as she would have it, autumn is throwing her welcome back party just a little too soon.  Now don’t get me wrong, autumn happens to be my favorite season.  I love the beautiful fall colors, the fact that I can wear a light jacket, and the anticipation of the upcoming holidays.  I know that may be three weird reasons, but I own them. LOL So we cannot ignore that though it seems like we just stepped off of the beach an … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

