Tilapia, the not so fishy fish.

21 Jul

I think that I have mentioned before that I am not much of a seafood person.  For me land animals and vegetation is the name of the game.  But every so often I can take to the seas and catch a good one.  So today’s catch will be tilapia.  I guess that my main thing is that I do not like anything that is too fishy.  I believe that tilapia has a good balance.  You can make it however you will like.

One of my favorite ways to cook tilapia, is to fillet it (or just buy it already done ;-)), then add some seasonings and bake it in the oven for a little bit. Let me tell you how.

Baked Tilapia

Ingredients:

  • 1 small lemon
  • 4 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 tablespoon fresh chopped parsley
  • 1 tablespoon fresh chopped recao/ chadon beni (may substitute with cilantro)
  • 1 teaspoon fresh chopped pimiento pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions, with tops
  • 1 small diced plum tomato
  • 4 tilapia fillets, about 6 ounces each, about 1 1/2 pounds total

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 400°. Zest lemon and squeeze 1 tablespoon of juice. In a small bowl, combine the peel and juice with the softened butter, parsley, recao, pimiento pepper, salt, pepper, green onions, and plum tomato.

Place each tilapia fillet in a foil casing, Top fillets with the butter mixture, and close so that it keeps the seasonings and sauce and does not dry out.  Place in a baking dish.  Bake fillets for 15 minutes, or until fish flakes easily with a fork.

Serves 4

Mmm take a bite out of that!

 

*Pictures taken from…

MarthaStewart.com

FoodNetwork.com

9 Responses to “Tilapia, the not so fishy fish.”

  1. kat July 21, 2011 at 5:35 am #

    I love baking fish! That looks so good! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

    • simplystudded July 21, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

      Hi Kat welcome to the Blog community!!!! We will check you out… Please feel free to stop by anytime.

    • Hershey July 22, 2011 at 5:11 am #

      Hi Kat,

      As Studded has already stated, WELCOME!!! I hope that you enjoy writing as much as we do. I will definitely stop by. Thanks for giving us a look. Please don’t be a stranger. If you have any questions feel free to email me @ simplyhershey@gmail.com. I love to give advice. Also, i love comments. Hope to see you back soon.

      Be Blessed

  2. cheran July 23, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    That looks so good.. makes me want to eat my phone.

    • Hershey July 23, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

      Hahahaha Cheran you always have the BEST comments!

  3. Leticha Fraser July 24, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    I like tilapia so thank you for a new recipe!!!

    • simplystudded July 24, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      Your welcome Leticha…. I hope you enjoy it

    • Hershey July 25, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      No problem Ticha! I am glad that I can be of assistance. Thanks for stopping by.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Salmon for Lent « simplystudded - February 23, 2012

    […] Tilapia, the not so fishy fish. […]

Leave a Reply

