Oh Gosh! Curried Crab Anyone? (in a Trini accent)

16 Jun

Curried Crab

So I know that I have mentioned to you that I come from a Trinidadian family.  Trinidad is a very small island, with a very large and diverse culture.

Trinidad & Tobago Map and Flag

And I know that I’ve also mentioned that one of our favorite things to do as a family is to find a reason to celebrate just about anything, just so we can get together and cook some food (or maybe it’s just so we can actually eat the food).  Whichever way you’d like to put it, we leave with our appetites very satisfied.

One of our favorite things to eat in the summer is curried crab and dumplings.  Personally, I have some issues with crab because I find it to be a whole lot of work, for such little meat.  I know that Alaskan King  Crabs yield a decent amount of meat, but no, we use blue crabs. (by the way either is fine.)

Alaskan King Crab

Blue Crab

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blue crabs are much smaller, a little more feisty, and very little meat, but where blue crabs lack in substance they make up for in taste.  Okay, enough talking, I need to leave you with this recipe, while I think of a reason for my family to get together.  I don’t really need any other reason than I’m hungry! 😀 I’ll talk to you guys later. I’m on a mission…

Curried Crab

  • 4 Large crabs
  • 2 tbsp. Margarine
  • ½ cup Chopped Onion
  • 1 tsp Minced Garlic
  • 1 tbsp. Minced Green Seasoning
  • ½ tsp. Fresh or Ground Ginger
  • 2 tbsp. Curry Powder
  • 1 cup Coconut Milk
  • 1 tsp. Salt or to taste
  • ½ cup Water or more
  • Hot pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Clean crabs and cut into sections.
  2. Heat margarine and sauté onion, garlic, green seasoning and ginger.
  3. Mix curry with coconut milk and add to onion and garlic; cook for a minute.
  4. Add crab, salt, pepper, and water; bring to a boil and cook for 5 minutes.
  5. Cover tightly, lower heat and cook for 25-30 minutes; add more water if needed.
  6. Salt and Hot Pepper to taste.
  7. Serve with Dumplings.

I didn’t include the recipe for the dumplings, but if you are interested, you can send me an email at simplyhershey@gmail.com.

Mmm take a bite out of that! (said with a Trinidadian accent) LOL

9 Responses to “Oh Gosh! Curried Crab Anyone? (in a Trini accent)”

  1. Trish June 16, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    CLAD AF IS MERCY!!! Hershey!!! I will try this out! It looks soooooo good! Thanks for the info girlie!

  2. Cheran June 17, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    Hummmm, I’m kinda scared to cook seafood, I have no idea why. But that does look good.

  3. Hershey June 18, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    No problem Trish!

  4. suzz March 20, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    Just an FYI from a Trinidadian the blue crab image you have above is not the blue crabs found in Trinidad but I like you enthusiasm

  5. suzz March 20, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    ok so I didn’t want to leave the conversation like that so here are links to the type of blue crab we have in trinidad.

    and

    • simplystudded March 20, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Hello Suzz thanks for your comments…. Hershey is actually a Native of Trinidad… She choose the images and crabs that are easily found in the states so that it is easier for our subscribers to duplicate the recipe. But we appreciated your feedback..

      Studded

    • Hershey March 21, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Hi Suzz,

      Yes I agree that the crab is different, but like Studded stated, I am sure to share what our readers can purchase locally. I actually have a BEAUTIFUL picture of blue crab that I took in the Chaguanas Market. I just have to find it amongst my many pictures. LOL

      Thank you for sharing. I hope to see more comments from you soon.

      Hershey

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Salmon for Lent « simplystudded - February 23, 2012

    […] Oh Gosh! Curried Crab Anyone? (in a Trini accent) […]

Leave a Reply

