The Sound: Frank Ocean

10 May

Frank Ocean

So I have to give all credit to my Bestie for this one. We are both fans of music in our own unique way. She has been ringing my ear off about this artist by the name of Frank Ocean and it peaked my interest to really learn about him and his style of music. Frank Ocean was born Christopher “Lonny” Breaux and decided to change his name to Christopher Francis Ocean noting it was the most empowering thing he has done . Frank is a native of New Orleans where he was born but currently resides in Los Angeles. Listening to Frank sing you will understand how his melancholic voice flows like the ocean and is soothing to the soul. The acclaimed album nostalgia, Ultra has gotten a lot of buzz and Frank has been compared to the likes of Drake.

I can see why one would put them in the same category however I feel Frank is a real artist. He is true to his craft and listening to his music you get the sense that he is singing from a deep place.   He makes you want to grab a glass of wine, turn the lights down low and zone out into your own sense of time. Frank is 23 years old however he sings as if he has an old soul. There are a few hits you are are sure to enjoy such as Novocaine, American Wedding and my personal favorite “Songs for Women”. I will be paying close attention to his career because all I can see is success in his future. I have provided you with a music mix below for your enjoyment.

Ciao,

Ms. Studded

4 Responses to “The Sound: Frank Ocean”

  1. Katie May 10, 2011 at 4:15 am #

    Very well put bestie!!! Love the article

  2. Ki May 10, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Oooh! I love! I even went and stalked his twitter page a bit *bbm embarrassed face* LOL but seriously he has a unique sound. I’m looking forward to hearing more from this artist! Great article!

  3. SimplyStudded May 10, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Thanks Ki…. I ❤ him as well…..

Leave a Reply

