Hawaiian Stay-cation

31 Mar

As I watch the weather channel tell me that it’s supposed to snow again tonight, my mind wants to take me on a esculent stay-cation.  So I decide that I want to travel to a hotter place and take to the web for a great Hawaiian dessert.  After searching for a while, I come across something that sounded so divine. .. “Polynesian Ambrosia”;  the perfect mix of mandarin oranges, bananas, coconut, maraschino cherries, and pineapple juice. So now the challenge is to see if I have all of the ingredients in my kitchen.  I mean I should have some things pre stocked for moments like this.  It’s a simple recipe so I may just get away with this one.  What makes this recipe even greater is that it takes all of 10 minutes to put it altogether.  When I’m done, I sit in front of my TV and watch the travel channel and imagine that I’m on a beautiful beach in Hawaii eating my Polynesian Ambrosia and completely ignoring the snow right outside my window.

If you will like to join me on my Hawaiian stay-cation, you can try the recipe below and let your taste buds fly away with me.

Polynesian Ambrosia

2 cans mandarin oranges, drained
2 bananas
3/4 c. flaked coconut
12 maraschino cherries
1/2 c. pineapple juice

Slice bananas and dip in juice of mandarin oranges (this keeps them from turning dark). Combine all ingredients and chill for at least 2 hours. Just before serving, toss lightly to blend fruit.

Mmm take a bite out of that!

8 Responses to “Hawaiian Stay-cation”

  1. Trish March 31, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Hershey this looks really good! I’m going to try it.

  2. Hershey April 1, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    Try it and let me know if you like it.

  3. Trish April 1, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    I sure will.

  4. Lystra April 22, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    Looks delicious. I plan to try it real soon. Will give you a call when I am sitting in front of the tv and pretending that I am in some tropical island. Which one? I will decide then.

  5. Hershey April 22, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    Hi Lystra, I have my passport and I am ready to go!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Touch of Sweet for Thanksgiving « simplystudded - November 17, 2011

    […] Hawaiian Stay-cation […]

  2. Parfaits…Simple, Yummy, Elegance « simplystudded - February 9, 2012

    […] Hawaiian Stay-cation […]

  3. Cool Creamy Panna Cotta « simplystudded - June 21, 2012

    […] the different ways that we can combat the heat. In the past we’ve cooled down with Ambrosia in “Hawaiian Stay-cation”, Cocktails and Mocktails in “Quench That Thirst” and “A Tale of Two Tails…”, Peanut […]

Leave a Reply

