The Creativity of Personal Chef Kimberly Parris

24 Feb

It’s Black History Month and I will like to honor a Black woman that is making history.  Personal Chef Ms. Kimberly Parris is taking the culinary world by storm.  A graduate of the Art Institute of New York City, Kimberly has taken her creativity and her love for food and created a power couple of Mmm Mmm goodness. I was blessed with the opportunity to interview Ms. Parris, and I will like to share my experience with you. Please enjoy the mouthwatering and funny interview and photos that follow.

Enjoy!

Chef Kimberly Parris

Why did you choose to become a personal chef instead of the more conventional restaurant chef?

I’m not a traditional person by any means. I strive to go against the grain. To me, being in a formal restaurant environment, albeit stable and exciting all the same, becomes stifling to my creativity. As a personal chef, not only do I have the ability to show and utilize my training, but I also have the opportunity to show my creativity. It’s my personal canvas.

How would you describe your services?

I am a French inspired Caribbean caterer and personal chef that offers the experience – the food, the ambiance, the service, the entire package.

What inspires you?

Two things ultimately inspire me – my love of creating, and my seven year old daughter Michele. She is such a little grown up, and always pushing me to pursue my dreams.

How is your creativity expressed in your work?

I am a lover of taking unusual combinations and putting them together to create new masterpieces. A prime example of this is my white sweet potato pie. The average American is only familiar with the orange yellow sweet potato that goes in pie. For me, I wanted to be able to create a new experience and exposure to my clients, so I thought: what if I did a pie with white sweet potatoes instead? How would that change the flavor profile? I tried it, and now it’s a signature dish of mine. Many of my signature dishes come from an ‘aha!’ moment, a moment where I stretched my boundaries and decided to be more creative.

What kind of clientele do you cater to?

I cater to everyone! When I started, I would cater to two markets: the single black professional or the working family professional of black or Caribbean descent, for the most part. But now I cater to everyone – I’ve done work for Michelle Williams of Destiny’s Child, I’ve done large scale events for major entities such as the New York Urban League and United Cerebral Palsy, as well as small brunches for the average working professional. If you’d like a taste of K. Parris eats, you’ve got it!

If you had 20 minutes to prepare for a dinner party of 4, what would you throw together?


Sheesh! 20 minutes? Ok ok… I’d probably throw together a starter dish of Papaya, Cucumber and Tomato Salad, which is really simple and palate cleansing, and then I’d do a simple Brown Rice Pilaf with some Grilled Ginger Honey Salmon and Buttered Asparagus. I might even throw together a Berry Crisp if I had 5 extra minutes to spare…but sheesh! I’d hope that’d never happen…I’m good at working under pressure, but I like to be prepared! =o)

Thank you so much for sharing Ms. Parris!

Island Grilled Shrimp Skewers

White Sweet Potato Stuffed Baby Bellas

Jungle Girl's 1st Birthday Cake

Assorted Hummus Platter

For further information, please visit www.KimberlyParris.com

4 Responses to “The Creativity of Personal Chef Kimberly Parris”

  1. Trish February 24, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    OMG! I loved this interview and now I’m HUNGRY!!! LOL
    Thumbs up to Ms. Parris. I will check the site out!

  2. Hershey February 24, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Thanks Trish! Yes I wish the best to Ms. Parris and much success to come.

    • simplystudded February 24, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

      yummmmm looks mouth watering!!! Great job Hershey and much success to Ms. Kim!!! You go girl

  3. Hershey February 25, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    Thanks Studded!

Leave a Reply

