Color Blind…

18 Jan

So there is this mis-conception that Black women shouldn’t wear lipstick. Well let me kill that little mis-understanding… Black women look fabulous in lipstick and shouldn’t be afraid to try a new things! I myself was a victim of this “mis-conception”. I wanted to try red lipstick but I was told by so many people… Girl you crazy!!! or Black girls don’t wear lipstick. So like a dummy I never gave it a try…. That was until I saw my girlfriend Jada… She has a caramel brown complexion and she was working the hell out of this red lipstick! I had to ask my girl to give me the inside scoop. She was wearing a beautiful red matte lipstick from MAC cosmetics. So you know I had to hit them up and get my lipstick popping. Well after I spoke to the representative I was shocked to find out my complexion went wonderfully with red as well as various other colors. I left that store with more lipstick than these little lips could hold. I wore my red lipstick proudly and all I can say is it was the bomb.com (as my girl Trisha would say). Moral to this story… Ladies stop letting fear and other people’s ignorance  limit you! The only way you will know what looks good on you is to give it a try! I have included some pics of beautiful black women rocking all shades of lipstick! Be fearless, flawless and most of all be CONFIDENT……..

Ciao,

*SimplyStudded

Ciara hurting them with those cherry red lips…. She is killin Em’…

Chanel’s plum  colored lips are a beautiful compliment to her skin tone… Can we say sophisticated lady..

Taraji Henson lips remind  me of that old song “red, red, wine”… Her lips are the perfect shade of  a sultry burgundy!

Rhianna pink lipstick is sugary sweet and looks fab with the smokey dark eye liner… The lipstick accentuates her overall look!

10 Responses to “Color Blind…”

  1. Jada January 18, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    Please let me tell you my journey for the perfect red lip. As you mentioned WE continue to listen to other people. I would go into MAC and constantly let them give me a red liner & a red lip. BIG MISTAKE. Since my lip already had a natural line, to lighten that line is a no no. I finally marched into MAC & took matters into my own hands. I asked for a matte finish red and used my own Chestnut MAC liner. So that I didn’t look like I stepped fresh out the 90’s I used the liner and blended real good with a lip brush & then put on the red lipstick. I looked in the mirror & VOILA! My red lipstick search was finally over. From that day forward I vowed to always have this red ipstick with arms length. It was a rough road taken for this search *wipes brow* but in the end I came out FAB as usual. Mwaaah *MAC Red Kisses* Lol.

    • simplystudded January 18, 2011 at 12:28 am #

      LOL.. Yes Jada!!! You Schooled me I am forever greatful for that!!! You were working that Red girl.. Two finger snaps in a circle boo… Owwwww

  2. Jada January 18, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Owwwww!!! Chantelly I’m all about sharing beauty and fashion secrets. That’s how real woman/fashionistas get down.

    • SimplyStudded January 18, 2011 at 12:35 am #

      Preach JD….. I agree 100%

  3. Ki January 18, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    @ Studded and Jada..u guys are too funny:) I am known for being afraid of color (bbm embarrassed face) but after reading this I am tempted to go out and buy some red lipstick! Thanks for the advice girl! I’m gonna be fearless, flawless, and confident as well!

  4. Jada January 18, 2011 at 2:21 am #

    Ki please make sure you keep us posted on the progress of your search for color. Lol.

  5. Ki January 18, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    Will do Jada!:)

    • simplystudded January 18, 2011 at 3:03 am #

      Yes Ki…. Girl get on it!!!! Get fierce…

  6. Trish January 18, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Owwww Studded! I love the red lipstick and I’m currently on the RED LIPSTICK WORLD TOUR! POW! Wonderful article mama!

  7. SimplyStudded January 19, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    Yes girl…. Red Lipstick World Tour….

Leave a Reply

